Stopping You in Your Trax: Mike Bones “What I Have Left”

Posted: March 5, 2009 in Hot Trax, What's Ed-G:
Tags:

Mike Bones, a New York native, is taking a tip from the Kings of Leon Rule Book: Break big in the UK and in time you’ll see the benefits spread in the states.  I’m hoping.

His debut single from his sophomore album, “What I Have Left”, has the UK pubs and blogs raging about the track’s orchestral build-up, hopeless and despairing lyrics, and Bones’ natural talent on guitar and vocals – it’s the Doves meets the Verve’s Bittersweet Symphony, but it’s a one-man show.  Still a little too indie-sounding to hit mainstream, but really, those are the gems that are worth a listen. 

“I could marry you with what I have left – but I’m certain you’ll do better on your own…”

“I could leave you with what I have left – would you prefer hatred or bitterness?”

Comments

Leave a Reply

