Stopping You in Your Trax: Metric “Help, I’m Alive”

Posted: March 10, 2009 in Hot Trax, What's Ed-G:
Tags: ,

Formed in Brooklyn and now bred in Canada, Metric is an edgier sister to Stars (another great Canadian import) and they go as far as sharing vocalists with the masters Broken Social Scene.  Gearing up for the release of their fourth studio album, Fantasies, they stick to their guns and deliver the right sound for that addictive indie-pop tune.  It could be due to Emily Haines’ coy and pulsating vocals – sultry, sweet, but strong.  The original version hits the right rhythm and drums to move the room, but the stripped-down version lures you in just as much.

If you’re still alive
My regrets are few.
If my life is mine,
what shouldn’t I do?
I get wherever I’m going,
I get whatever I need
while my blood’s still flowing
and my heart still beats.

Metric – Help I’m Alive (Acoustic)

Head to ilovemetric.com to download a free MP3 of the track, courtesty of Metric.

Ed-G

Comments
  1. Charlisse says:

    OMFG!! I love them, I saw Metric in concert she is so rad! I can’t wait to listen to this song, I’m on it. Love, Love. So fucking cool.

  2. […] RAW: Metric “Gimme Sympathy” By theedgitator 0 Comments Categories: Hot Trax and Raw & Stripped Down Tags: Metric First, a stripped-down version of “Help, I’m Alive” was given away as a free track on their site… […]

Leave a Reply

