Stopping You in Your Trax: The Rural Alberta Advantage “Don’t Haunt This Place”

Posted: May 1, 2009 in Hot Trax, What's Ed-G:
Tags: ,

This one’s a bit of a downer – actually quite a bit of a downer, but all arranged with an upbeat sound, if that makes any sense.  Every word paints the story, so I’ll post all the lyrics here.  A story about a friendship and a relationship gone sour – the story of a break-up with a lot of baggage and loose ends to tie up. 

Grab a free mp3 here of the track here – thanks to the band’s website 

On serious repeat today…

Don’t haunt this heart
don’t haunt this place
Your heart beating slow as it beats out a pace
West side apartment grows lonely and dark
West side apartment is two more empty hearts

I see your keys hanging in the same place
They haven’t moved for a month or even a day
This was hard it was fun/We should do it again
Give ourselves some time/ Ten years for the day

I need you now
I need you then
I never want to feel this again
Separate the room with painful divides
until there’s nothing left to remind
Never want to see you again
I never want to feel this again
Turn off the locks
All the pitfalls night
‘Till I find something you left behind

And the things we never had
And the things we wish would come back because we need this oh so bad
because we need this oh so bad
And we tremble in the night
For the things we’re wishing were right
because we need this oh so bad
because I need you oh so bad

don’t haunt this heart
don’t haunt this place
your heart beating slow as it beats out a pace
West side apartment grows lonely and dark
west side apartment is two more empty hearts

I want to hurt- I want to betray
It’s not like me to make your heart break
This was hard it was fun we should do it again
Give ourselves some time ten years for the day

And the things we never had
And the things we wish would come back because we need this oh so bad
Because we need this oh so bad
And we tremble in the night
For the things we’re wishing were right because we need this oh so bad
Because I need you oh so bad

Don’t haunt this heart don’t haunt this place
Your heart beating slow as it beats out a pace
West side apartment grows lonely and dark
West side apartment is two more empty hearts

I know it’s right I know it’s okay
And I’d like to see you now and again
This was hard it was dumb we should do it again
Give ourselves some time ten years from the day.

Comments
  1. Jayvee says:

    on repeat – thanks for always feeding the depression.

Leave a Reply

